Hot Chocolate, a Donut, and a Thought

Yesterday, I was sitting in a French bakery in Niigata station with a donut in one hand and a cup of hot chocolate in front of me, surrounded by a couple of friends, and I said,

“Hot chocolate is hard to say in Japanese.”
“What is it? Hotto chokoreeto…”
“Hotto ko-ko-a.”
“Oh, that is hard.”
And I looked down at my food and it sort of hit me. Here I was, after years of standing around in my room and stumbling to pronounce a language from the other side of the world, after summer and summer again daydreaming about what the weather in Japan was like that day – here I was sitting in a cafe in Japan eating a donut. Exactly where I always wanted to be.
I got teary eyed over a donut yesterday. That’s life.
Hot Chocolate, a Donut, and a Thought

Leave a Reply

