Change in NC

Yesterday, the first news I got when I came home was that the ban on same-sex marriage in North Carolina was struck down.

Today, it’s National Coming Out Day. It feels rather fitting.

I am so, so grateful for this event. I know there are still a lot of other things that need to be changed, but I feel like this moment is worth celebrating. It is beautiful and sudden and I wasn’t entirely prepared for it. But it happened. It’s real.

On the topic of coming out…

I don’t think anyone should feel it’s necessary to declare who they are for the sake of other people’s understanding, or say what category they fit most in.

I think sometimes, it can be a good thing to talk about things in the open. And it can mean a lot (I know it can) to hear that other people – celebrities you admire, friends, family – are in the same boat as you.

But I also know that sometimes, as Alan Cumming once put it, you can feel a little grey. Sometimes the words don’t quite fit, or you don’t feel comfortable saying you’re one way or another.

So for you. Don’t worry. You aren’t alone.

Change in NC

Leave a Reply

